The Moment

“Happy are those who dream dreams and are ready to pay the price to make them come true.” – Leon Joseph Cardinal Suenens

Her name is Susan Boyle; she was one of the contestants in the Britain’s ‘Britain Got Talent’show in 2009. Before this, she was a little known forty seven year old, who lived with her cat and had never been kissed. When I think of the ‘not being kissed’ part, all that comes to my mind is that life is harsh. Susan became known globally when she took the stage and owned it with the rendition of the song “I dreamed a dream” from Les Miserables. If you know Susan’s story, you know that she came second at the end of the competition.

I have watched this clip many times on YouTube and I will most likely watch it many more times. At the start of the of it, Susan is chit chatting with the show organizers back stage; two short men with a typical ‘stuffy’ British accent; I say this with a smile because I like the British accent even though I do not get half of what they say. It was obvious that these two men were belittling Susan, giving her the look that said ‘you 47 year old woman, do you think you belong on this stage?”  It is obvious that Susan knew that, that night was special although looking at her, it was not evident that she was about to shatter the ceiling. Her hair could be described as bushy at best and her dress would pass for attire at a decent mother’s union meeting. In her own words, she came from a small town; she called it “a collection of villages”.

So Susan gets on stage and Simon Cowell, formerly of ‘American Idol’, in his typical demeanor was looking at her wondering how she got on ‘his’ stage. She introduced herself simply as Susan Boyle. Simon even asked her age right there on stage. He then asked her, “what is the dream?” Susan said that she was trying to be a professional singer. Simon and the other judges raised their eyebrows, some of the audience sneered and snorted, obviously wondering if she was out of her mind to build such a castle in the air. Simon wanted to know why that dream had not materialized until then.

Susan said, “I have never been given a chance before, here’s hoping it will change.”

Susan wanted to be as successful as Elaine Page .The audience was laughing because first, Susan did not have that look of a diva, and then here she was, mentioning a musician who some did not even know existed. I guess this is the Lady Gaga generation.

Finally, it was time to cut the talk and do the singing. Susan gave the controls a sign that she was ready to begin and there she was, beginning her career, she took her minutes of fame seriously; these minutes were the defining moment when her life turned around – literally.

As I listened to the beginning of the song “I dreamed a dream’ rend the air, I was thinking to myself “this is all Susan needs, just this line”. She caught everyone’s attention, jaws dropped, the crowd was up on their feet cheering and everyone knew that she had nailed it. Susan undeterred, unmoved by the applause, belted out the lyrics, sang effortlessly, with amazing vocals, better than any ten vocalists that you know out there. On to the chorus, one of the lady judges was besides herself with appreciation, stood up in applause; of course there is no way Simon was going to stand up  but from his face, I could tell he was completely taken. Susan was thrust into fame, continued to wow the crowds; later on she garnered interviews in the big and famous media stations including in the US, came second in the 2009 finale and won recording deals worth millions. As I write this, Susan had just released a new single and continues to soar. Life is beautiful!

This got me thinking about life and how we all at some point look and long for ‘the moment’. It can be a moment for anything that you want so badly, for your career to launch, for a business to get a much needed impetus; any dream that you might have to be realized. It is more like the way the eagle looks for the eye of the storm to ride out.

This of course this got me thinking about relationships and I thought that these dreams apply also to our relationships zones; I thought about how sometimes, for those who have not settled down yet, we get into the wrong ones; I thought about how sometimes being in this dating scene is or can be a bummer. I thought about Eves and Adams who, just like Susan, know that they have something special to give out there but can’t seem to ‘secure’ a date leave alone a relationship; and they are all beautiful people inside out, and are still waiting for ‘that moment’. That moment for them is the day when they will meet their proverbial ‘knight in shining armor’, or their ‘queen ’. Those moments when Eves and Adams look at themselves  and wonder  “how can they not see all this that I see in myself, what do I need to do to bring it out, that I am everything they need and more and with this love to give?”

It is the paradox of life, the quagmire that many people often find themselves in. They, like Susan, are walking around knowing that there is something that they possess on the inside of them – although they are yet to find someone worthy to share it with or someone to notice it. Now if I were a preacher delivering a sermon, I would have called it “your Boyle moment” and by now I would have grabbed the mic, adjusted my attire and gone for the punch line, yelling my lungs out, moving from one corner of the stage to the other saying “your moment is here! Your moment is now!” By now the crowd, just like they applauded Susan, would be on their feet already, yelling “my moment is now!” They would give their neighbor a high five – even if some of them would not know what moment they were talking about.

Well, since I am no preacher, I will just say this almost in a whisper but with a smile, whatever moment it is you are looking for and you know deep inside that you will not stop the quest, and are willing to do what it takes to come to make it pass – soberly – then ladies and gentlemen, your ‘Boyle’ moment is coming!

Have a great week!

By Fridah

19 thoughts on “The Moment

  1. A positive read. Got me thinking of this poem below – I would change some of the lines (we cant keep doing the same things and expecting different results) but I like it’s overall message…..

    Just because no one has been fortunate enough to
    realize what a gold mine you are,
    Doesn’t mean you shine less

    Just because no one has been smart enough to figure out
    that you can’t be topped,
    Doesn’t stop you from being the best.

    Just because no one has come along to share your life,
    Doesn’t mean that day isn’t coming.

    Just because no one has made this race worthwhile,
    Doesn’t give you permission to stop running.

    Just because no one has realized how much of an
    awesome woman you are,
    Doesn’t mean they can affect your femininity.

    Just because no one has shown up who can love you on
    your level, Doesn’t mean you have to sink to theirs.

    Just because you deserve the very best there is,
    Doesn’t mean that life is always fair.

    Just because God is still preparing your king,
    Doesn’t mean that you’re not already a Queen.

    Just because your situation doesn’t seem to be progressing right now,
    Doesn’t mean you need to change a thing.

    Keep shining, keep running, keep hoping, and keep praying,
    Keep being exactly what you are already. COMPLETE!!

  2. Ha ha that preacher scene, I could *hear it as I read.
    Now if only it were easy take this moment and make it my Boyle moment!
    Thank you Faridah

  3. This reminds me of a song in my head “life is what you make it, hustle for your money mi thugs mi ladies…..” The song is Life by Vybz Kartel…. 🙂

  4. Wonderful piece project44,every article leaves a lasting impression,its like a staircase of good hope.he he he.

    Yeah,Susan moment was violently hilarious,God uses the foolish things of men to glorify Himself.Simon Cowell also had his moment,the ride was much worse than ‘Susan never been kissed story’.He’s back..(from a decade of debt to billionaire on Forbes list)Simon works hard.

    Chase yo dreams but always remember who you’re once you catch them.Its very easy to loose ourselves while walking the dream.
    Still single endeavor to be the best life partner when yo ‘Boyle’moment arrives,everyday knows yo one more step away.

    Great posting Lady Fridah…………..blessings yo way.

  5. I’ve had a couple of impatient ladies leave me in search of ‘greener pastures’. I feel sorry for them because one day they will look at me, slap their foreheads, slap their husbands, cry, wish they could turn back the hands of time, and become incurably horny.

  6. Things we take for granted, to others, it’s a Boyle moment. This is deep stuff, that as we take relationships to be a norm, some desire for that one single date, let alone a relationship. Good stuff Fridah. Word.

  7. hahaha! That preacher scene left me in stitches! *shouts* My moment is here!

    Great post quite inspiring too. Are you sure you’re not a preacher? 🙂

    Ps. The look on Simon’s face was legendary!

  8. Glad you enjoyed it ! And hope you will have a moment that you will write about and we will all be happy to read it! Been to your blog and we like !

Comments are closed.